Six Month Blog-iversary

Is it kosher to throw yourself a party? Today is my 6-month blog-iversary and I could not be more excited about where I am. Getting back in the kitchen has opened up a world of creativity for me, something that I felt I had been lacking since college. Mostly, it has been a stress reliever from my everyday demanding, busy, work life.

I love being in the kitchen and creating desserts for others to enjoy. It was tough over the winter to keep up with snowboarding, work, blogging and traveling but I enjoyed the challenge (most of the time!). I have picked up many books and thumbed through numerous blog posts to help improve my skills. I am so thankful for the guidance I have found through some of the blogs that I follow. There are some amazing and talented folks out there.

Blogging is a full time job in and of itself. Through Beyond Frosting, I have pushed myself to really understand the ins and outs of social media and how they relate to my blog. I have avoided Twitter for years, and finally signed up for an account a couple of months ago. There are days when I don’t have time to open Twitter until I am in bed, and catching up on a days worth of tweets is crazy. It is one of the many ways in which I have come to find new blogs, delicious recipes and seen how relationships can grow without ever meeting a person face to face. Are you on Twitter? Come by and say hi @beyondfrosting.

If I can take a moment to reflect on my accomplishments over the past 6 months, I am happy to see my photography improving and having my submissions accepted to websites like Foodgawker and Tastespotting. I am overjoyed to see my cupcakes appear on various “best of” websites. I am still learning the power of Pinterest, but it is amazing to see what kind of traffic it drives to a blog. It motivates me to continue to push myself in new directions, trying new things and creating desserts to call my own.

The next 6 months looks to be pretty exciting for me. One of my goals for this year was to partner with a brand, and I am excited to announce that I will begin a blogging/brand ambassador partnership this May; stayed tuned! I am traveling to Austin to attend the Blogher Food conference in June, and I hope to meet a few of the faces behind the blogs that I look forward to reading everyday. I am also catering a HUGE wedding this summer with upwards of 300 cupcakes! Mostly, I look forward to continuing to bring creativity from my kitchen to my blog and using my blog as an excuse to consume more cupcakes than I can count. Thanks for reading! Make sure to come back tomorrow for French Toast Poke Cake!

To keep up with Beyond Frosting, you can follow me on Bloglovin, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram or Pinterest.

I love to hear from you!

Here are the top five more popular posts from the past 6 months. Apparently, you all like whipepd cream.

1. Hot Chocolate Whipped Cream

2. Cake Batter Whipped Cream

3. Ghirardelli and Chocolate Strawberries Cupcake

4. Mocha Irish Cream Cupcakes for Two

5. Triple Chocolate Brownie Cupcakes

My personal, favorite creation was Cabury Cookie Brittle

My first post to be accepted to Foodgawker was:
Coconut White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cupcakes 

6 thoughts on “Six Month Blog-iversary

  1. Yaaaay!!
    Big congrats on your 6 month blog-iversary!!
    I really enjoy reading your blog and your recipes are tops in my house.
    Looking forward to your future post and your pictures are just lovely!
    Thank you for taking the time to share with us!
    Have a wonderful day!

    • Hi Dalila! Thank you so much. I am very happy to know that someone is paying attention out there hahah! I am fortunate enough to have awesome readers like you to keep me going!

  2. Hi,

    Happy blogiversary!
    I am following your blog via Feedler and will be trying one of your great cupcake recipes soon:)

    Many greetings
    Yasemin from breadpassion.com

Leave a comment