Funfetti Poke Cake

Cake Batter Poke Cake

Did you all have a good weekend? I sure did! I went down to LA with a friend and she took me on a bakery tour. I can’t wait to tell you guys about it later this week. I saw some pretty amazing flavors and desserts. It gives me some inspiration to get back in the kitchen and get to work.

While I was in Bass Lake this summer, I discovered Birthday Cake Oreos. Umm what? I have been living under a rock? These things are amazing. I knew I wanted to make some sort of dessert with them. So I used them in this Funfetti Poke Cake. What is so amazing about this cake? It is topped with Cake Batter Whipped Cream and Birthday Cake Oreos. This cake is sprinkle overload and I am in love.

Cake Batter Poke Cake

 

Funfetti Poke Cake
Makes 16 servings

Ingredients

1 box Vanilla cake mix

1/4 C Dry instant vanilla pudding mix

3/4 C Buttermilk

1/3 C Oil

3 Large eggs

1/2 C Sour cream

2 tsp Pure vanilla extract

1/2 C Rainbow sprinkles

1 can Sweetened condensed milk (14 oz)

12 Birthday Cake Oreos

Cake Batter Whipped Cream

4 C Heavy whipping cream

1 C Yellow cake mix (dry)

1/3 C Rainbow sprinkles

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Combine cake mix and dry pudding mix, with buttermilk, oil, eggs, sour cream and vanilla extract. Beat on medium speed until well combined.
  • Use a spatula to fold in sprinkles.
  • Pour batter into a 9×13” pan and bake at 350°  for 18-22 minutes.
  • Check your cake for doneness by inserting a toothpick into the center of the cake. If your toothpick comes out clean, your cake is finished. Allow to cool for 10 minutes.
  • While the cake is still warm, take the end of a wooden spoon or another round object and poke holes all over the top of your cake.
  • Pour can of sweetened condensed milk over the top of cake and allow it to absorb until cake is cooled.

For the Cake Batter Whipped Cream

  • Put the mixing bowl and whisk in the freezer for 15 minutes to get them extra cold. Remove from freeze and attach to mixer.
  • Pour heavy whipping cream into mixing bowl and beat on medium speed for five minutes. Add dry cake mix and increase speed to medium high. Continue to beat until stiff peaks form.
  • Fold in sprinkles with a spatula.
  • Spread whipped cream over top of the cake and refrigerate until ready to server.
  • Before serving, crush Oreos in a Ziplock bag and spread over top of cake.
  • Keep cake refrigerated.

Cake Batter Poke Cake

Cake Batter Poke Cake

I have made my fair share of Poke Cakes now. From French Toast to Mudslides, I’ve got you covered. Take a look below. This post is also linked up at Marvelous Mondays.

Mudslide Poke Cake

Hot Fudge Poke Cake

French Toast Poke Cake

15 thoughts on “Funfetti Poke Cake

  1. That funfetti poke cake is one yummy fun looking treat! It just looks like it’s shouting, “hello, yipppppeeee, enjoy me, you deserve it!”

  2. Pingback: funfetti poke cake click here for recipe | Oh So Yummy

Leave a comment