Rice Krispies Treat Frosting

Rice Krispies treat

This frosting sort of happened by mistake, and sometimes those are the best. I made a batch of rice krispies treats on Friday night with the intention of making a totally separate dessert; a dessert which did not work out at all. Since I made my Seven Layer Bar Frosting, I was have racking my brain to think of different types of chunky frostings. I stared at the pan and decided I would try a Rice Krispies Treats Frosting.

Rice Krispies Treats

The results? Kind of mind blowing. I think there are two ways you could do this. You could either start with a marshmallow frosting and add rice krispies cereal or you can do what I did, and make a vanilla frosting and add the rice krispies treats to the frosting. I really like the crunchiness of this frosting.

Rice Krispies Treats

A few things about this frosting:

  • It is best to prepare the batch of rice krispies treats in advance of making this frosting, so that the marshmallow sets a little bit.
  • I used almond extract instead of vanilla try to and cut down the sweetness of this frosting.
  • This frosting is best served within a day or two of making it. You can also try adding a teaspoon of milk or heavy cream for added creaminess.
  • If you want to pipe this frosting, I suggest to use a large, round open tip, otherwise it will get clogged.

Rice Krispies Treats

Rice Krispies Treat Frosting
Makes enough for 12 cupcakes

Ingredients  

1 1/2 C Unsalted butter at room temperature

3 C Powdered sugar

¾ tsp Pure almond extract

2 C crushed Rice Krispies treats

  • Allow butter to come to room temperature. Cream butter with your mixer for several minutes until smooth.
  • Slowly add powdered sugar, one cup at a time while mixing on medium speed.
  • Add almond extract and increase speed to medium high, beating until smooth.
  • Add crushed Rice Krispies treat and gently mix into frosting.
  • Spread on your favorite cupcake.

Rice Krispies Treats

This post is linked up to Marvelous Mondays , Tuesday Talent Show and Strut Your Stuff.

For Nutritional information, head over to My Recipe Magic

//

27 thoughts on “Rice Krispies Treat Frosting

  1. What an amazing idea! This would’ve never crossed my mind in a million years and now, all I can think about is making a giant pan of rice krispies squares so that I can try this. Gorgeous photos!

  2. Pingback: Rice Krispie Treat S’mores | BeyondFrosting

Leave a comment