Funfetti Cake Ball Stuffed “Pot o’ Gold” Cookies

cupcake stuffed cookie

Here we are almost done with the second week in March, with 8 days left until St. Patty’s Day! I think it’s time I bring you something green! Last week, when I made the Cake Ball Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookie, I knew that I wanted to make a green and gold version. I call these Funfetti Pot ‘O Gold Cookies!

I started with my grandmother’s sugar cookie, dyed it green, and then stuffed it with a golden yellow cake ball. Better yet, I added some sprinkles to my cake ball to make it resemble a funfetti cake ball!

Cupcake stuffed cookie

My grandmother’s sugar cookie is more of a butter sugar cookie than a sugary-sugar cookie. Therefore, I added a bit more frosting to the cake crumbs to enhance the sweetness. I found these adorable four leaf clover sprinkles at my local cake supply store, which I used on top of my cookie to add a little bit more green!

Cake Balls

Yields 24 mini cake balls

4 C crumbled yellow cake

2/3 C Vanilla Frosting (I used Duncan Hines)

Yellow Food Coloring (I used Ameri Color Lemon Yellow)

Sprinkles

Cake ball stuffed cookie

  • Dye your frosting yellow by adding in 2-3 drops of food coloring, and mixing until completely blended.
  • Add your frosting and sprinkles to the cake crumbs and use your hands to mix very well. Dough will be thicker and sticky. I suggest using rubber gloves if you have some!
  • Use a spoon or your small (1 tsp) cookie scoop and make your cake balls. Place on a lined baking sheet and put them in the fridge or freezer until your cookie dough is done chilling.

Time for the sugar cookies! I listed the doubled version of my recipe below. If the recipe is not doubled, you will not be able to make all 24 cookies.

Nana’s Sugar Cookies
Ingredients:

1 C Butter

1 C Sugar

1 tsp Baking soda dissolved in 4 tbsp milk

1 tsp Vanilla

2 Eggs beaten

Pinch of salt

Green food coloring (I used Ameri Color leaf green)

5 C Flour

  • Beat butter and sugar until sugar is dissolved and creamy
  • Dissolve ½ tsp. baking soda in 2 tbsp milk
  • Add baking soda/milk, vanilla, eggs and salt
  • Add 2-3 drops of food coloring until you have your desired color
  • Slowly add flour ½ C at a time
  • Chill in the freezer for at least 15 minutes

To assemble your cookies:

  • Once your cookie dough is ready, you will need 1 tablespoon of dough per cookie. Flatten it out like a pancake.
  • Put your cake ball in the middle of your dough and wrap it around the cake ball with your hands. Roll it into a ball. You can also peel away excess dough if you have too much.
  • Add a few sprinkles on top
  • Place it on a lined baking sheet, either parchment paper or a baking mat.
  • Bake at 350 degrees for 13-14 minutes. Baking times will vary by oven.

I think these cookies are super fun for a St. Patty’s Day party. What other time of year do you have an acceptable excuse for green beer, green cream cheese and green cookies? Ok, maybe you can have green cookies for Christmas, but that was so three months ago.

Cupcake stuffed cookie

6 thoughts on “Funfetti Cake Ball Stuffed “Pot o’ Gold” Cookies

Leave a comment