Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

A few weeks ago, actually a few months ago, I went to Colorado for my brother’s graduation. I have been putting off writing this post for whatever reason; but today is the day. When I was in Fort Collins, I went to this place called Mary Mountain Cookies; it was oh my god amazing. First of all, their cookies were the size of my face. They had more than a dozen flavors to choose from AND they had a variety of frozen cookie doughs (for take n’ bake) and other frozen treats. So naturally I bought eight cookies to try.

Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

I was so intrigued by the blueberry cheesecake cookies that I decided to recreate them at home. They are blueberry cookies topped with graham crackers and a cream cheese glaze. Their cookies were soft  and chewy; they’re pretty much my cookie idols.

Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies


Blueberry Cookies
Adapted from Two Peas and Their Pod
Yields 18-24 cookies depending on size

6 oz Blue berries

3 C Flour

1/2 tsp Baking powder

1/2 tsp Baking soda

1/4 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/2 C Butter, softened

3/4 C Granulated sugar

1/4 C Light brown sugar

1 + 2 tbsp Eggs  *see below

1 tsp Pure vanilla extract

3/4 C Sour cream

Streusel topping

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

2/3 C Graham cracker crumbs

1/4 C Light brown sugar

1/4 C All purpose flour

2 tbsp Butter

  • Wash and dry blueberries thoroughly.
  • In a medium size bowl, combine dry ingredients including flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon.
  • Allow butter to come to room temperature. Combine butter and both sugars in a stand mixer. Beat on medium speed until well mixed.  Add one egg and mix well.
  • In a separate bowl, beat the second egg with a fork. Measure out 2 tbsp of beaten egg and add to batter. The reason I did this is because the original recipe called for 3 eggs. Since I halfed most of the ingredients, this is the way I halfed the eggs.
  • After eggs are well-beaten into batter, add vanilla extract and sour cream.
  • Slowly add dry ingredients to batter and beat on a medium speed until combined. Gently fold in blueberries with a spatula. Batter will be very sticky.
  • Refrigerate for at least two hours.
  • To prepare streusel topping, combine all dry ingredients with butter in a medium sized bowl. Use a pastry cutter or fork to cut the butter into the dry ingredients, eliminating any large chunks.
  • Preheat oven to 425° F. Line baking sheets with baking mat or parchment paper.
  • Spoon out ¼ cup of dough onto baking mat and flatten slightly. Press at least one tablespoon of streusel topping onto each cookie. To make smaller cookies, use only 2-3 tablespoons of batter.
  • Bake for 8-10 minutes, just until tops are golden brown. Transfer to wire rack to cool.

Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

To complete the cheesecake in my cookies, I added a cream cheese glaze. I waited until I was ready to serve my cookies to add the glaze. Once added, the cookies should be refrigerated, however please note that prolonged refrigeration will dry out these cookies.

Cream Cheese Glaze

4 oz Cream cheese, softened

½ C Powdered sugar

3 tbsp Milk

½ tsp Pure vanilla extract

  • Combine softened cream cheese with powdered sugar, milk and vanilla. Whisk until smooth. For thinner glaze, add additional milk.
  • Drizzle glaze over cookies with a Ziploc bag or spoon.

Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

I have to say that I am pretty excited about these cookies, but they still don’t taste quite as good as Mary Mountain’s Cookies. I might have to travel back to Fort Collins just to get more!

Do you like blueberries?
How about trying out these Blueberry Pie Parfaits or Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins?

Blueberry Pie Parfaits

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

20 thoughts on “Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorites | Just a Spoonful of Sugar

  2. These look absolutely delicious! I love cheese cake flavor in every form. 🙂 Thank you so much for mentioning that once iced with cream cheese frosting, these cookies should be refrigerated. Even some bakeries I have been to don’t refrigerate their cream cheese frosted goods. My son got an awful case of food poisoning from a red velvet cupcake with cream cheese frosting purchased at a boutique bakery. From that point on, I have never taken chances. When in doubt, refrigerate. 🙂

    • Thank you! The problem with adding any cream cheese frosting to baked goods is that often time, once refrigerated, they dry out! In a hot environment, cream cheese frosting will deteriorate much faster. Generally speaking, it is good for about 3 hours unless it’s too hot.

  3. Pingback: Lemon Blueberry Pie Cupcakes | BeyondFrosting

  4. Wow, I think I may have just drooled over the keyboard. I’ve never thought of using fresh fruit in a cookie for fear of making the mixture too wet but I’m very tempted to give these a try!

Leave a comment