Chocolate Espresso Bean Cookies

chocolate covered espresso bean cookies

I have been obsessed with chocolate covered espresso beans lately. First, I made the Espresso Chip Cookie Dough Shortbread Bars. I loved the dough so much, I knew I had to make it into a baked cookie. Oh boy, am I glad I did. These cookies are soft, packed with espresso flavor and a hint of chocolate. As soon a I gave my taste testers a bite, they couldn’t help but say ” oh my God” at their eye rolled back into their heads. That’s when you know you have a good cookie.

chocolate covered espresso bean cookies

The basic structure of my cookie was adapted from Picky Palate’s chocolate chip cookie dough; it is by far the best chocolate chip cookie recipe I have found. I altered my cookie to add additional brown sugar, halved the vanilla and added some Kahlúa to compliment the coffee flavor. In addition to the chocolate covered espresso beans, I added some strong espresso to the mix. My favorite thing about these cookies is that even though they are packed with coffee flavor, the chocolate is still an important player. I’m basically telling you that you HAVE to try these.

chocolate covered espresso bean cookies

Chocolate Espresso Bean Cookies
Makes about 3 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

1 1/2 C Chocolate covered espresso beans

3 1/2 C Flour

1 tsp Salt

1 tsp Baking powder

1 C (2 sticks) Unsalted butter softened

1 C Light brown sugar

1 C White Sugar

2 tsp Vanilla extract

2 tsp Kahlúa

2 Large eggs

1/2 tsp Espresso powder

3 tsp hot water

2 tbsp Milk

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 350° F.
  • Use a food processor to grind up chocolate covered espresso beans into small pieces, set aside.
  • Combine flour, salt and baking soda in a medium-sized bowl and set aside.
  • In the bowl of your stand mixer, combine butter with both brown and white sugar. Beat on medium speed until butter and sugar are well mixed.  There should be no remaining chunks of sugar.
  • Add vanilla extract and Kahlúa followed by one egg. Beat on medium speed until incorporated and beat in the second egg.
  • In a small dish, mix espresso powder with 3 tsp hot water and stir until dissolved. Measure out 2 tsp from the mix and add to batter. Discard remaining liquid.
  • Last, add milk and make sure all wet ingredients are well mixed.
  • Turn mixer speed to low and slowly add flour mixture just until mixed.
  • Add chocolate covered espresso beans last and mix on low until combined.
  • Spoon cookie dough onto lined cookie sheet.
  • Bake at 350° F for 10-14 minutes. I like my cookies slightly undercooked. Remove from oven and allow to cool for at least 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.
  • Store in an air tight container.

chocolate covered espresso bean cookies

You know what goes good with a morning iced latte? Cookies. Does anyone have a cookie they can spare? I am in dire need. For the nutritional information, head over to My Recipe Magic.

Speaking of espresso beans, how about these Espresso Chip Cookie Dough Bars

Deep Fried Cookie Dough

Deep fried cookie dough in a cornflake crust

13 thoughts on “Chocolate Espresso Bean Cookies

  1. Pingback: Cookies With A Kick | Chocolate Espresso Bean Cookies | stupidDOPE.com | Music, Fashion, Travel, Art & More!

Leave a comment