Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

Blueberry Muffins

Oh man, this is an exciting week for me! On Thursday, I am traveling to Austin to attend the Blogher Food Conference. I signed up in December, so I have been anxiously awaiting this week for quite some time. I am really looking forward to meeting the bloggers that I follow and have come to know through the past few months. I am trying to plan a visit to some local bakeries and eateries in the area. This is one of my favorite things to do when I visit a new city. If you have any recommendations, please send them my way! I plan to not eat at all this week so I can have some storage space for the extra calories, haha.

Blueberry Muffins

So yea, back to these muffins. When my parents read this, I am sure they will be shaking their head at me for sharing this story. When we were younger, we would always go camping in New Hampshire during the summer and my parents made us go pick blueberries. Now as much as I like blueberries, do you know how long it takes to fill a gallon size bucket with mini blueberries? A freaking long time! I just recall having to wear long pants and a long shirt and sit in the hot sun while my parents tried to have three young kids help them pick two or three gallons of blueberries. As an adult, I much prefer to buy my blueberries at the grocery store. Sorry mom and dad.

Blueberry Muffins

These blueberry muffins have a hint of cinnamon in them and are topped with a cinnamon streusel. I love me some streusel. These muffins are packed with moisture; They even taste better the next day. There is extra baking powder in this recipe to help the muffin rise with a nice dome. I used some Zulka Pure Cane Sugar for these muffins. Zulka Pure Cane Sugar is an all natural, unrefined, granulated sugar. It is made from freshly-harvested sugar cane that is a better-tasting and less-processed cup-for-cup replacement for refined white sugar.

Blueberry Muffins

Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins
Makes 10-12 muffins

2 C All-purpose Flour

3 tsp Baking powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1 C Zulka Sugar

1 tsp Cinnamon

1 Large egg

1/2 C Melted butter

1/2 tsp Pure vanilla extract

1 C Buttermilk

1/2 C Sour cream

1  1/4  C Blueberries

  • Wash and rinse blueberries under water and set aside in a small bowl.
  • Preheat oven to 425°.
  • In a medium sized bowl, sift together flour. Measure ¼ C of the sifted flour and pour over blueberries. Gently stir to coat the blueberries in flour.
  • Take your remaining flour and add baking powder, the salt, cinnamon and Zulka sugar. Then set this mixture aside.
  • In a medium size bowl, beat the egg using a whisk until light and fluffy. Add melted butter and whisk together with the egg. Continue to add vanilla, buttermilk and sour cream and whisk everything together until smooth.
  • Slowly pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and use a wooden spoon to mix just until combined. Your batter will be thick, but careful not to over mix! Lastly, fold in the blueberries
  • Grease your muffin pan with Crisco. I like to use Crisco instead of oil spray, but a spray works fine too.
  • Fill your muffin tin all the way to the top with batter. Add 1 tablespoon of streusel to the top of each muffin. See below for streusel recipe.
  • Bake for 5 minutes at 425° and then reduce heat to 350° and bake for another 16-20 minutes. Do not open the oven for at least 15 minutes, you will see how nicely the muffins rise. Baking times will vary by oven.
  • Check your muffins for doneness by inserting a toothpick into the center of the muffin. If your toothpick comes out clean, your muffin is done. Allow muffins to cool completely in the pan. You can also cool on a wire rack, but you want to allow them to cool enough to remove and transport them out of the pan.

Blueberry Muffins

Streusel topping

2 tbsp Butter at room temperature

1/4 C Flour

2 tbsp Zulka sugar

1 tbsp Brown sugar

1 tsp Cinnamon

  • To make the streusel topping, combine all ingredients in a medium sized bowl and use a pastry cutter or a fork to blend the butter into the dry ingredients until crumbly. There should be no large chunks of butter remaining.

Cover each muffin with about a tablespoon of streusel. No need to skimp on this!

Blueberry Muffins

 

Blueberry Muffins

Zulka Sugar provided me with a free sample of this sugar to review. All opinions expressed in this post are my own. I was not compensated for this post.

 

You might also like these Strawberries and Cream Muffins

 

32 thoughts on “Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

  1. And all these years we thought you LOVED blueberry picking! There’s nothing like wild blueberries and huckleberries!

  2. OK….you had me at streusel topping! 🙂
    Anything with streusel is a must try for me, throw in fresh fruit and I’m happy.
    I have never picked any fruit except for apples and those trees were just too high!!
    The ladder was not my friend that day….LOL….talk about shaky ground!

  3. Haha awh, your comment from your dad is funny. Blogs always bring out deep, dark family secrets, like how you actually dislike blueberry picking (in your case), or how I ratted my parents out for making me sit on a creepy rodent man’s lap as a child. Same difference.

    BTW, blueberry muffins are one of my favorites! LOVE these. And with extra cimmanon! 😉

    • HA he thinks he’s funny because I never let me forget how annoying that was! Also, unless you are referring to the easter bunny, I am going to have to ask you to explain that one in Austin!

  4. They look amazing. wanna zing them down the hatch with a vanilla latte. I know you are going to have a rockin time in Austin and look forward to hearing about it Jules.

  5. hahaha! We used to pick blueberries when I was a kid too…now I make my kids go pick berries with me! I look forward to it every summer, but I bet my kids are not so happy to go 🙂 These muffins look absolutely gorgeous!!! And I can’t wait to meet you this weekend. I am so up for a trip to a fun bakery!!!

  6. Pingback: Blueberry Pie Parfaits | BeyondFrosting

  7. Just made these Jules! YUM!!!! So much for losing weight! I am anxious to hear about and see pictures of the wedding you just did!

    • Hi there and thanks for stopping by. The recipe is intended to make with buttermilk. I have not tried to make it without the buttermilk before, so I can’t answer your question. Sorry! If you do not have buttermilk at home, you can actually make it. Take a measuring cup, and add 1 tablespoon of fresh lemon juice to the measuring cup. Pour milk over the lemon juice and fill up to the 1 cup line. Allow to sit for 5-10 minutes and stir with a spoon.

  8. Pingback: Blueberry Cheesecake Cookies | BeyondFrosting

  9. Pingback: Blueberry Muffin Recipes–Best of the Best from Pinterest | iPinnedIt.com – I Pinned It

  10. Pingback: Lemon Raspberry Almond Muffins | BeyondFrosting

  11. Pingback: Cinnamon Blueberry Muffins

Leave a comment