Cadbury Cookie Brittle

Easter Cookie

Cabury Cookie Brittle

Do you ever have those instances where something you intend to do totally flops but ends up turning into something great? This Cabury Cookie Brittle is one of those something greats! I guess by traditional brittle standards, these should be much crispier, but I much prefer a soft sugar cookie to a crunchy one any day!

Easter Cookie

I started with a roll of Pillsbury cookie dough, and pressed it into a skillet. I have never baked with a skillet before, but it was on my list of new things to try. It was very easy and I was pleased with the results.

Easter Cookie

I did a little research on skillet cookies and the first thing I learned is that even if you think the cookie isn’t done; take it out of the oven if the edges are golden. My cookie was still “soupy” looking when I removed it, but the heat of the pan continues to cook it after it’s removed. The second thing I learned is that they have to be totally cooled before you even begin to try to remove them from the skillet. I know most people just cut the cookie and eat it from the pan, but that doesn’t work for me!

Easter Cookie

Once my cookie was cooled, I melted some Cadbury Crème Eggs, crushed some Cadbury Chocolate Mini Eggs and made some pink frosting. This was easier than I originally thought and I am so pleased with the result.

Cadbury Cookie Brittle

1 Roll Pillsbury Cookie Dough (16.5 0z)

4 Regular sized Cadbury Crème Eggs

1/2 C Cadbury Mini Eggs (2 small bags)

1/3 C Vanilla Frosting

  • Preheat oven to 375°. While preheating the oven, remove cookie dough from the refrigerator and let sit until oven is preheated.
  • Break apart the roll of cookie dough and press into the pan, try to make as even of a layer as possible.

  • Bake for 18-20 minutes. I checked mine at 15 minutes and could tell it wasn’t done. At 18 minutes, I could see the edges were really browning. My cookie had risen in the middle and I thought it still wasn’t done yet. I removed it and let it sit for a couple hours. It was cooked all the way through and still soft and chewy!
  • Allow the cookie to cool completely before removing from the skillet. You can use a knife to run around the edges. Note that you do not have to remove this from the skillet to make this recipe! Also, if you don’t have a skillet, you can bake this on a flat cookie sheet. Baking times may need to be adjusted accordingly.

Easter cookies

  • Remove the wrappers from the Cadbury Crème Eggs and use a spoon and knife to cut into small pieces. Microwave for 15 seconds, remove and stir. Repeat this process 2 or 3 times until your chocolate is melted.
  • Spoon the melted eggs onto your cookie and use a knife to spread. The chocolate will be slightly pliable, so once cooled, you can also use your fingers to help spread and press the chocolate down.

Easter Cookie

  • Place your Cadbury Mini Eggs in a plastic baggie. Use a rolling pin and crush the Mini Eggs by pressing down on top of them with slight pressure. You will want to break into small pieces. Sprinkle the crushed Mini Eggs on top of the melted chocolate and press it into the chocolate.

  • Take your frosting (I used store bought Vanilla frosting) and dye it to the color of your choice (optional). Mix the dye completely into the frosting. I used a piping bag and a size 2 tip to pipe my frosting onto the cookie. Once you are finished, let the brittle set in the refrigerator for 15 minutes to allow the frosting to stiffen.
  • Remove from fridge and cut you cookie into pieces, trimming the edges if desired.

Easter Cookie

You might have noticed that some of the edges of my cookie were not covered with chocolate, that’s because I ate them. I will warn you that it’s difficult not to snack as you go on this one. For instance, I started with 3 of the individual Mini Eggs and only used 2. Yes, I ate the third bag.

Easter Cookie

14 thoughts on “Cadbury Cookie Brittle

    • Hi Christina! Oh my, thank you so much! I am honored you stopped by as I am a huge fan of your blog! I think you will love baking a cookie in a cast iron skillet, I know I am hooked!

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Cream Cheese Cupcakes | BeyondFrosting

  2. Pingback: This and That | BeyondFrosting

  3. Pingback: Easter Recipe Roundup | BeyondFrosting

  4. Pingback: Six Month Blog-iversary | BeyondFrosting

Leave a comment