French Toast Poke Cake

Poke Cake

What’s a poke cake? I started seeing all these different poke cakes on Pinterest, and I had never heard of such a thing. Basically, a poke cake is a cake, which you poke holes in and pour pudding or something similar over the top and allow it to absorb into the cake. You top it off with whipped cream and/or other toppings. Umm, cool! So I did some research and decided to try a French Toast Poke Cake.

Poke Cake

What does my cake consist of? It is a cinnamon cake, loaded with maple syrup and vanilla pudding, topped with whipped cream. It’s pretty much dessert for breakfast, or breakfast for dessert. Either way you need to try this!

Poke Cake

French Toast Poke Cake
Recipe Adapted from yourcupofcake cookbook

1 Box Vanilla Cake mix

1/2 tsp Nutmeg

2 tsp Cinnamon

3 Large eggs + 1 egg yolk

1/3 C Butter melted and cooled

1 C Milk

1/4 C Sour cream

1 tbsp Pure vanilla extract

3 tbsp Pure maple syrup

Topping:

2 Packages instant vanilla pudding (3.4 oz size)

4 C Cold Milk

1/4 C Pure maple syurp

1 Container Cool Whip

Cinnamon for dusting

Preheat oven to 350° F. Combine cake mix, nutmeg and cinnamon together in a medium sized bowl. Mix in eggs, one at a time ensuring the batter is well mixed after each egg. Add single yolk last. Next add melted butter, milk and sour cream. Cream together until well mixed. Add vanilla and maple syrup last and mix until combined. Pour into a greased and floured 9×13” pan. Bake for 25-28 minutes until the top of the cake is golden brown. Test the cake for doneness by sticking a toothpick in the center, if it comes out clean, your cake is finished. Allow the cake to cool for 15 minutes.

Use the handle of a wooden spoon or another round object to poke holes into your cake. You will want them to be fairly large in order to allow the pudding to absorb in the cake. Take a 1/4 cup of maple syrup and drizzle over the top of your cake.

Poke Cake

In a separate bowl, mix together milk and pudding packets using a wire whisk until smooth. Do not allow the pudding to set. Pour the pudding over the cake and distribute evenly. Put the cake in the fridge for at least 1 hour to set.

Poke Cake

Poke Cake

To finish the cake, spread whipped cream over the top and sprinkle with cinnamon. Make sure to keep your cake refrigerated.

I am really excited to try more poke cakes this summer, I even dedicated a board on Pinterest to poke cakes! I will take my French Toast Poke Cake with a side of bacon please!

Poke Cake

27 thoughts on “French Toast Poke Cake

  1. What a yummy treat, poke cakes are always easy and fun to make.
    I was really surprised at how many different flavors you can make into a poke cake.
    This recipe will definitely be added to my list of keepers. 🙂

  2. I made a Boston Cream Pie poke cake last week. My Dad couldn’t get enough of it!! It was awesome and easy!

    • Hi! I put the cake with the pudding layer in the fridge for three hours. Then I microwaved a can of home style chocolate frosting so it was pourable, but not soupy or bubbly. Then I just poured the frosting all over the pudding layer and gently spread with a knife. I kept the cake in the fridg over night. It was a big hit!! …and easy!!

  3. I can’t think of a better reason to eat dessert for breakfast! I love the flavor of french toast, so eating it for any meal or for dessert sounds great to me. 🙂 I haven’t had poke cake in a very long time. I think it was a Jell-o thing many decades ago. It’s time I revisited poke cake with this recipe. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Hot Fudge Poke Cake | BeyondFrosting

  5. Pingback: Mudslide Poke Cake | BeyondFrosting

  6. Pingback: Funfetti Poke Cake | BeyondFrosting

  7. Pingback: More than 30 Poke Cake Recipes! | wine & glue

Leave a comment