Mint Chocolate Brownies

When I was only four years old, we relocated from Wisconsin to Vermont, where I grew up until after I graduated college.  Some of the kids I graduated high school with, I have known since pre-school. Several years after we moved to Vermont, a few mothers in my 2nd grade class got together to a organize a holiday cookie exchange. Twenty years later, it is still going on with most of the original moms and some new ones we have met along the way.

When I was little, I looked forward to the cookie exchange every Christmas. It meant a few things for me. I got to help my mom bake cookies and I had an excuse to see my friends on a school night. Plus I got to eat lots and lots of delicious homemade cookies. This year was the 20th anniversary of my Mom’s cookie exchange.

Chocolaty goodness

I thought it would be fun for my Mom and I to each make a recipe of her mother’s Mint Frosted Brownies on the weekend of the cookie exchange. Even though I am 3000 miles away, we constantly swap cooking advice, especially around this time of year. How do I make that again? These mint frosted brownies were one of my absolute favorite Christmas cookies that my grandmother used to make; I swear, this is how I became hooked on mint chocolate. Well Grandma’s recipe is true to it’s taste, the same way it was when I was a child.

The brownies are thick, the frosting is minimal and the ganache is a bite of sweet on top.

Mint Frosted Brownies
Make 1-1 ½ Dozen

3/4 C Flour

1/2 tsp Baking powder

1/2 tsp Salt

1/2 C Vegetable Shortening

2 Squares unsweetened chocolate

2 Eggs

1 C Sugar

1 tbsp Water

1 tsp Vanilla

2/3  C Chopped nuts (optional)

  • Preheat oven to 350° F.
  • Mix together dry ingredients  and set aside.
  • Melt shortening and chocolate in the microwave in 20 second increments until melted. Stir until smooth.
  • Stir in eggs, sugar and water.  Then  add to dry ingredients; beat well. Add vanilla and nuts.
  • Bake in a greased 9” square pan for 25 minutes. Allow brownies to cool completely.

Spread batter in a 9″ square pan

Mint Frosting:
If you like a lot of frosting, double this recipe.

1 C Powdered sugar

2 tbsp Margarine (or butter at room temperature)

1 tbsp Cream (half and half or heavy cream)

1/4 tsp Mint extract

Green food coloring

  • Blend confectionery sugar, margarine, cream and extract  until well combined
  • Add food coloring
  • Frost cooled brownies and refrigerate for 1- 2 minutes to let the chocolate set

Chocolate Ganache glaze:
If you like a lot of chocolate, double this recipe

1 square (1 ounce) Unsweetened Chocolate

1 tsp Margarine or Butter

  • Melt 1 square chocolate with 1 tbsp margarine in the microwave in 20 second increments until melted. Stir until smooth.
  • Pour over one end of the pan and tilt to cause to flow the opposite side of the pan, spread with a knife or drizzle on top of brownies.

My mom made her in a mini muffin tin

I asked my mom to share with me some pictures from the cookie exchange, since it was her turn to host this year. I was so bummed I couldn’t be there, my friends and I could use a mid-week play date.  Happy holidays everyone!

Cookie Exchange going down!

Ahh memories

Some OG Moms right there

One thought on “Mint Chocolate Brownies

Leave a comment